RSS

Death

23 Jun

A friend of a friend died a couple of days ago.

She was young.  She had a child.

She went in for a routine procedure.  Wisdom teeth extraction.  Under anesthesia her heart stopped.  She could not be revived.

It is tragic.

Some people ask me, “If you are an atheist, what do you believe happens after you die?”  Nothing.  The world existed for billions of years without me, and I don’t remember it.  When I die, I decompose and become base elements.  Building blocks for something else.  I don’t believe that there is a soul that survives us.  People ask me, “Well, this world is a test.  For the next life.  Don’t you want eternal life?”

Actually…  I’m not sure I want eternal life.  To live forever.  To what end?  Praising?  Seems shallow.  Although I do admit that wings and flying would be cool.

“God has a plan.”  That also seems shallow to me.  If I were a god.  And I designed the system.  It would not include unnecessary death.  There would be no “other world.”  And no “test world,” where we have to prove ourselves.  Seems silly, doesn’t it?

I don’t know what happens when we die.  That is humble.

If you were to ask me, this is my opinion.  I think that THIS is the life we have.  We live once.  One time.  To try to make a difference.  It would be nice to think that there is a magic world that goes on forever.  But what count is the NOW.  Here is what I think we should do:

If you are religious.  Pray.  And thank your god for life and health.

If you are not religious.  Seek solace.  In statistics.  In the fact that we should not be here in the first place.

Hug often.

Call you mother.

If you can walk, take the stairs.

Open your eyes and really see the world around you.

Laugh.

Cry.

Look at the world around you.  And ask questions about it.  Question everything.

Be kind to those around you.

Go out of your way.  To do nice things without expectation of recompense.

Be in awe…for the rest of your life.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2012 in Atheism, Random Thoughts, Religion

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Death

  1. DrJen

    June 23, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    We are the survivors of the survivors of the survivors. Sometimes we are personal survivors (I survived…that car wreck/that illness/that happenstance). At some point we won’t be. We have good days and bad and don’t have to be in amazement for every second. But it’s nice to know, when it comes down to it, I meet and care for people. I indulge my lucky self. If I don’t wake up tomorrow, folks will know that I really hope there’ll be a party full of fun anecdotes (the lowest form of evidence but the best form of a wake/funeral).

     
    • mcadamsdj

      June 23, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      Thank you DrJen. Your words are, well, just awesome!

       
  2. J. Randall Stewart

    June 23, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    Sorry to hear of your friends death. Even though I do pray, and believe in God, I very much appreciate your heart and attitude towards life. Besides God, I don’t think we are very far apart in our outlook on life. I don’t know if any of us, the religious included, really know what happens when we die. And I wouldnt exactly call this life a test, though I think I know what others mean when they say that. This is the life we have, right now. Each new day is the day we are in. I think a lot of people, religious and otherwise, speculate as to what life beyond death will be like, but a lot of that is just speculation.

    I appreciate your humility.

     
    • mcadamsdj

      June 23, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      Thank you J Randall Stewart. I agree with all that you have said. Thank you for your kind words. We are not too dissimilar are we?

       
  3. Dan S.

    June 23, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Nicely said Dave. Atheists, Buddhists, Christians, Muslims, Jews, etc. should all follow this advice…

     
  4. mimi

    June 23, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    Nice thoughts. You practice these things? I wonder.

     
    • mcadamsdj

      June 23, 2012 at 10:24 pm

      I try. But I am imperfect. I am broken. But I try. As best I can.

       

Leave a Reply

 
