RSS

Flank Steak Soft Tacos

25 Jun

Tacos are fantastic.  Savory, and you can add almost anything you want to them.  Here’s a simple recipe for you for flank steak tacos.  Grab a flank steak.  The flank is from the abdomen of the cow, so it’s tough.  Tougher than most other cuts you work with.  Season the steak.  If you’re in a hurry use something like this.

The Badia Fajita seasoning is pretty good, but I like the products from Pico de Gallo.  They make some awesome rubs and seasonings.  The Carne Asada is just the right amount of taste and heat.  If you have time, season with

1 T chili powder

1 t each salt, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin

1/2 t cracked black pepper

Rub rub rub.  I like to score the flank steak since it is tough, just to get some good seasoning deep in the meat.

Grill on medium-high heat until your doneness.  I usually like beef medium, but I’m happy to have flank steak medium-well or well.  The meat still retains its flavor.

As an accompaniment, for the soft tacos I like to grill the tortillas, and then add shredded cabbage and a chipotle mayo sauce.  The chipotle mayo is easy.  Mayo, liquid from canned chipotles (don’t need too much otherwise it will be too hot and overpowering), juice from half a lime, sugar, salt, and pepper.

Then I like to make a nice slaw to offset the heat of the taco.  Julienne carrots, jicama, red onion, vidalia onion, and red bell pepper.  Dress with a wisked mixture of olive oil, fresh lime juice, sugar, salt black pepper, and cumin.

Enjoy!

The Grilled Atheist

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in Cooking, Ingredients, Recipes

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Flank Steak Soft Tacos

  1. easy steak recipes

    June 29, 2012 at 1:28 am

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you
    hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks

     
    • mcadamsdj

      June 29, 2012 at 8:42 am

      Thanks for the kind words! My girlfriend, who is way more artistic than I, helped me design it. It was really easy on wordpress. Very intuitive. I then added all the content. For photos Im using photobucket.com. I’m just taking pics on my phone, uploading on the mobile app, editing, and then linking to my entries. Thanks!

       
  2. sirloin steak recipe

    June 30, 2012 at 8:54 am

    This is a good site I can’t believe I didn’t stumble upon it sooner.

     
    • mcadamsdj

      July 1, 2012 at 5:04 pm

      Thank you so much sirloin steak recipe!

       

Leave a Reply

 
