RSS

I might have a problem…

26 Jun

I love cookbooks.

And I love when my kitchen looks like this.  There’s just something about getting lost in a good cookbook or magazine.  The beautiful photos.  Imagining the smells and tastes.  Learning new dishes and new ingredients.  Looking back at recipes that you enjoyed and seeing some sauce splattered on the page.

I also love getting a local cookbook from anyplace that I travel to.  It’s just a wonderful way to immerse yourself in the culture.  Ever better is trying the fare and either searching out the recipe on your own or talking to the chef about how to prepare the dish.  What better way to travel than with your stomach!

Therapy…Reading cookbooks is complete therapy for me.  It is relaxing yet stimulating.  Passive, but active.  It’s armchair traveling.  It’s a story.  A narrative.  And always with a great ending.

What are your favorite cookbooks?

Cheers!

The Grilled Atheist

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2012 in Books, Cooking

 

Tags:

4 responses to “I might have a problem…

  1. Mimi

    June 26, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Get The Art of Simple Food if you don’t already have it. You’ll love it.

     
    • mcadamsdj

      June 26, 2012 at 2:20 pm

      Must get. Putting it in my Amazon shopping cart.

       
  2. Molly

    June 27, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    I have had to start going to the library – my collection is out of control. I just got Canal House Cooking vol. 1 (Summer). Had to buy that as CLP did not have. Have already made three recipes from it and it’s very good. Tender and Ripe are both beautiful, but was not sure how much I would make from them (back to CLP they go…). Summer classics also include Sunday Suppers at Lucques and all of the books by the East Coast Grill crew (Schlesinger et al). The new Martha Stewart American Food is also very good for basics – impulse buy at Costco that has paid off so far.

     
    • mcadamsdj

      June 28, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      Those sound cool, I’m going to have to check them out!

       

Leave a Reply

 
