RSS

Udon Noodle Bowl

03 Jul

I may have posted about this already, but man it’s really good…  Udon noodles are traditional Japanese wheat noodles.  It’s a larger gauge noodle with a lot of texture and flavor.  And when cooked you can serve hot or cold, and you can add just about anything to the bowl.  Many times they are used as a soup, but in many ways I like a noodle bowl with fixings.

This is the one I made last night.  Boil the noodles according to the package directions.  I like them a little salty so I add a fair amount of kosher salt to the water.  When done, drain (serve hot now if you like).  Run under cold water and let cool through.  I do this because I like to add a sauce and it reduces the starchiness and stickiness of the noodles.  For the sauce:

1 T neutral oil (Sunflower, etc)

1 T soy sauce

2 t sesame oil

1 t minced lemongrass (I actually like to use a product called Garden Gourmet which makes squeezable products…and it might be easier for you to find than fresh lemongrass if it’s not at your local market)

1/2 t garlic powder or fresh minced garlic

Salt and pepper to taste.

Whisk all of the ingredients and toss with the noodles.

Then add whatever you would like to the bowl.  My favorite is with jarred pickled cucumbers and chili bamboo shoots, both of which I buy at my local Asian market.  I also like to serve with steak or chicken.  The steak I make is seasoned liberally with salt, pepper, and Turkish red pepper (I’ve discussed this in a prior steak post).  Grill to medium and serve.

I LOVE this steak.  With just salt, pepper, and the Turkish red pepper you get a nice spicy crust and a beautiful Medium cooked middle.

Enjoy!

The Grilled Atheist

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 3, 2012 in Cooking, Grilling, Ingredients, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
